The depth of friendship

I am 27 years old and I am still struggling to grapple the concept of friendship. Friendship is complex as it is a generic term given to different kinds of relations. Friendship like any other relation is made up of  love, care, trust, honesty, ego, expectations and strength. Love plays a significant role as it takes a heart to love a friend.

I have a track record of broken friendships. It has been a rough ride and I often wonder if there is some chemical imbalance in my brain which makes people run for their lives! I have learnt many lessons about friends and it has been quite hard on me emotionally as it is heart-breaking to lose friends. With each friend, there are special memories and those memories turn into a distant souvenir that is put in a box and locked deep inside once the relationship ends. After a few broken friendships, I started treading more carefully in order to understand the meaning of friends. I then realized that friends cannot be defined by words as they are much more than words…they are people that grow with you and see the good in you.

If only Monica, Chandler, Phoebe, Joey, Ross and Rachel existed in each of our lives! Do friends like that really exist? Are there friends who can talk about anything under the sun and fight and argue and still finish the day with a beer? Maybe they do! I have one friend that I could call my friend forever or my go to person and it makes me feel lucky and blessed. I have come to understand that even if you are able to make that one friend that you can talk to, laugh with, cry with, argue with, brainstorm with, have late night conversations about saving the world, you have done it! Friendship to me is not about how many friends you have nor is it about being polite, kind and sweet but it is about a few good friends who are honest, trust you, love you and care about you. Honesty is most important as it keeps relations real and progressive and if you are not able to be honest with your friend, you need to ask yourself if that person is really your friend. If honesty breaks a relation, then that relation is better non-existent.

At the end of the day, I am happy with a few beautiful friends that accompany me in my journey of life by sharing my happiness, tears and my dreams and are able to work with me in making this world a better place with more love and less pain 🙂