Lent: new discoveries


As I grow older, I tend to question my practices and my beliefs more than I used to (which I hope is a good thing) and lately I have been contemplating on what Lent means to me. As a teenager, I was proud to not eat meat during Lent as I grew stronger in self-discipline and was able to control my desire to eat meat. Coming from a family that indulged in food and especially meat(big time!), this was a great achievement.  As years passed along, it almost became a ritual to give up meat for Lent. I had even stopped reasoning.  The earliest memory I have is my mother telling me that I could save up the money that was used to buy meat and give it to the poor. I found that concept amazing but then again, I was not earning at that point. I was simply giving away my parent’s money. And so, what did I do for Lent that helped others rather than myself? Was I not being selfish and taking care of my own needs (self-control and self-discipline)? Was that the spirit of Lent?

This year, I have decided to look outwards and the hope is to continue finding causes to support and to fight for justice in whatever way I can, even after Easter. Lent will be the beginning of a walk to fight for justice and also in nurturing positive relationships.

One comment

  1. Chola · February 27, 2012

    If only half the world would set such commitments ….”This year, I have decided to look outwards and the hope is to continue finding causes to support and to fight for justice in whatever way I can, even after Easter. Lent will be the beginning of a walk to fight for justice and also in nurturing positive relationships.” this world would be a better world

Leave a Reply

